Eurosurveillance banner

Read our articles on the ongoing Ebola outbreak in West Africa

Call for papers for a special issue on impact of anthropogenic changes to water on human pathogens

Follow Eurosurveillance on Twitter: @Eurosurveillanc

Further content
About us

Eurosurveillance is a European peer-reviewed scientific journal devoted to the epidemiology, surveillance, prevention and control of communicable diseases, with a focus on such topics that are of relevance to Europe. It is a weekly online journal, published every Thursday, and features short rapid communications, longer in-depth research articles, surveillance and outbreak reports, reviews and perspective papers, as well as short news items. Timely publication of short authoritative papers on ongoing outbreaks or other relevant public health events is one of the major assets of the journal. Under special circumstances when current events need to be urgently communicated to readers for rapid public health action, e-alerts can be released outside of the regular publishing schedule. Topical compilations of selected articles and special issues are also published in print.

The entire content is open access, free of charge for both readers and authors. All articles are indexed in the PubMed/MEDLINE, Scopus, EMBASE and EBSCO databases. Starting from June 2013, indexed articles are tagged with document identifiers (DOIs) and registered with CrossRef. The journal has been selected for coverage by Thomson Reuters and is indexed and abstracted in the Science Citation Index Expanded (also known as SciSearch) and in the Journal Citation Reports/Science Edition beginning with Volume 14(1) 2009. The current impact factor, for the year 2013, is 4.659 (Journal Citation Reports, Thomson Reuters, 2014). This places Eurosurveillance at rank 9 among the 70 journals in the category Infectious Diseases. The Scopus-based SCImago Journal Rank (SJR) for 2012 ranks Eurosurveillance at 54 of 1,581 journals in the category Medicine.

Approximately 11,700 active subscribers receive the weekly table of contents via email. In 2013, 85 peer-reviewed rapid communications and 117 peer-reviewed regular articles were published in Eurosurveillance, by authors from ca. 60 countries worldwide, as well as 47 editorials, news pieces, letters and meeting reports. The rejection rate was ca 80%. All articles since 1995 are available on the Eurosurveillance website.

Eurosurveillance was founded in 1995 and jointly funded until March 2007 by the European Commission, the Institut de Veille Sanitaire (InVS) in Paris, France and the Health Protection Agency (HPA) in London, United Kingdom. Eurosurveillance is a registered trademark of the European Union. Since March 2007, Eurosurveillance has been published by the European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC) in Stockholm, Sweden. The publisher grants editorial independence to the editorial team ( The views expressed in the journal are those of the authors and may not necessarily comply with ECDC policy. As a non-profit publication, the journal has no financial conflicts of interest.

In January 2010, Eurosurveillance was accredited by the Health on the Net (HON) Foundation ( as adhering to the HON code of conduct (HONcode). HON is a non-governmental, non-profit organisation with the purpose of supporting users to identify sound, reliable and trustworthy health information on the Internet since 1995.

The editorial team is based in Stockholm, and supported by a board of 16 Associate editors and currently 39 country advisors. The Associate editors consist of internationally renowned and active experts in the fields of public health and clinical medicine with expertise in infectious diseases, laboratory research and diagnostics and mathematical modelling. Our editorial advisors serve as contacts in the 28 Member States as well as Norway and the EU candidate and potential candidate countries, and help us maintain close ties to our authors and reviewers. The editorial board meets in person once a year but also provides ongoing advice through our extranet. Board members serve for a period of three years which can be extended.

EDITORIAL TEAM To the topTo top

Ines Steffens

Senior editor
Kathrin Hagmaier

Scientific editors
Karen Wilson
Williamina Wilson

Assistant editors
Alina Buzdugan
Ingela Soderlund

Arne Haeger

Technical support
ECDC ICT services

Contact the editorial team at:


Andrea Ammon, Stockholm, Sweden

Tommi Asikainen, Frankfurt, Germany

Mike Catchpole, London, United Kingdom

Denis Coulombier, Stockholm, Sweden

Natasha Crowcroft, Toronto, Canada

Christian Drosten, , Bonn , Germany

Karl Ekdahl, , Stockholm, Sweden

Johan Giesecke, Stockholm, Sweden

David Heymann, London, United Kingdom

Heath Kelly, Melbourne, Australia

Irena Klavs, Ljubljana, Slovenia

Karl Kristinsson, Reykjavik, Iceland

Daniel Lévy-Bruhl, Paris, France

Panayotis T. Tassios, Athens, Greece

Hélène Therre, Paris, France

Henriette de Valk, Paris, France

Sylvie van der Werf, Paris, France



Albania : Alban Ylli, Tirana

Austria : Reinhild Strauss, Vienna

Belgium: Koen De Schrijver, Antwerp

Belgium: Sophie Quoilin, Brussels

Bosnia and Herzegovina: Nina Rodić Vukmir, Banja Luka

Bulgaria: Mira Kojouharova, Sofia

Croatia: Sanja Music Milanovic, Zagreb

Cyprus: to be nominated

Czech Republic: Bohumir Križ, Prague

Denmark: Peter Henrik Andersen, Copenhagen

Estonia: Kuulo Kutsar, Tallinn

Finland: Outi Lyytikäinen, Helsinki

France: Judith Benrekassa, Paris

Germany: Jamela Seedat, Berlin

Greece: Rengina Vorou, Athens

Hungary: Ágnes Csohán, Budapest

Iceland: Haraldur Briem, Reykjavik

Ireland: Lelia Thornton, Dublin

Italy: Paola De Castro, Rome

Kosovo under UN Security Council Resolution 1244: Lul Raka, Pristina

Latvia: Jurijs Perevoščikovs, Riga

Lithuania: Milda Zygutiene, Vilnius

Luxembourg: Thérèse Staub, Luxembourg

The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia: Elisaveta Stikova, Skopje

Malta: Tanya Melillo Fenech , Valletta

Montenegro: Dragan Laušević, Podgorica

Netherlands: Paul Bijkerk, Bilthoven

Norway: Hilde Klovstad, Oslo

Poland: Malgorzata Sadkowska-Todys, Warsaw

Portugal: Isabel Marinho Falcão, Lisbon

Romania: Daniela Pitigoi, Bucharest

Serbia: Tatjana Pekmezović, Belgrade

Slovakia: Lukáš Murajda, Martin

Slovenia: Alenka Kraigher, Ljubljana

Spain: Elena Rodríguez Valín, Madrid

Sweden: Christer Janson, Stockholm

Turkey: Fehminaz Temel, Ankara

United Kingdom: Norman MacDonald, Glasgow

European Commission: Paolo Guglielmetti, Luxembourg

World Health Organization Regional Office for Europe: Nedret Emiroglu, Copenhagen

To receive our electronic Table of contents click here to subscribe.

Disclaimer:The opinions expressed by authors contributing to Eurosurveillance do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC) or the editorial team or the institutions with which the authors are affiliated. Neither ECDC nor any person acting on behalf of ECDC is responsible for the use that might be made of the information in this journal.
The information provided on the Eurosurveillance site is designed to support, not replace, the relationship that exists between a patient/site visitor and his/her physician. Our website does not host any form of commercial advertisement.

Eurosurveillance [ISSN] - ©2007-2013. All rights reserved

This website is certified by Health On the Net Foundation. Click to verify. This site complies with the HONcode standard for trustworthy health information:
verify here.