Editorial board

The Eurosurveillance editorial board is composed of 17 associate editors and 37 editorial advisors.

The associate editors are internationally renowned and active experts in the fields of public health and clinical medicine with expertise in infectious diseases, laboratory research and diagnostics and mathematical modelling.

Our editorial advisors serve as contacts in the 27 European Union (EU) countries as well as Norway, Iceland and the EU candidate and potential candidate countries. They also help us maintain close ties to our authors and reviewers. The editorial board members meet in person once a year and provide ongoing advice between meetings. Board members serve for a period of three years which can be extended.

Find short biographies on the members of our editorial board here.

Associate Editors

Tommi Asikainen, European Commission, Brussels, Belgium

Magnus Boman, Royal Institute of Technology (KTH), Stockholm, Sweden

Mike Catchpole, European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC), Stockholm, Sweden

Christian Drosten, Charité Berlin, Germany

Karl Ekdahl, European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC), Stockholm, Sweden

Johan Giesecke, Karolinska Institute, Stockholm, Sweden

David Heymann, Public Health England and London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine, London, United Kingdom

Susan Hopkins, Public Health England, London, United Kingdom

Irena Klavs, National Institute of Public Health, Ljubljana, Slovenia

Karl Kristinsson, Landspitali University Hospital and University of Iceland, Reykjavik, Iceland

Daniel Lévy-Bruhl, Santé publique France, Paris, France

Jacob Moran-Gilad, Ministry of Health, Jerusalem and Ben-Gurion University of the Negev, Beer-Sheva, Israel

Chantal Reusken, Centre for Infectious Disease Control of the Dutch National Institute for Public Health and the Environment, Bilthoven, the Netherlands

Panayotis T. Tassios, National & Kapodistrian University of Athens, Athens, Greece

Hélène Therre, Santé publique France, Paris, France

Henriette de Valk, Santé publique France, Paris, France

Sylvie van der Werf, Pasteur Institute and University Paris Diderot, Paris, France

Editorial Advisors 

Albania: Alban Ylli, Institute of Public Health, Tirana

Austria: Maria Paulke-Korinek, Ministry of Health and Women’s Affairs, Vienna

Belgium: Tinne Lernout, Sciensano, Brussels

Bosnia and Herzegovina: Sanjin Musa, Institute of Public Health of the Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina, Sarajevo

Bulgaria: Iva Christova, National Center of Infectious and Parasitic Diseases, Sofia

Croatia: Sanja Kurecic Filipovic, Croatian National Institute of Public Health, Zagreb

Cyprus: Linos Hadjihannas, Ministry of Health, Nicosia

Czech Republic: Jan Kyncl, National Institute of Public Health, Prague

Denmark: Peter Henrik Andersen, Statens Serum Institut, Copenhagen

Estonia: to be nominated

Finland: Outi Lyytikäinen, National Institute for Health and Welfare, Helsinki

France: Valérie Colombani-Cocuron, Santé publique France, Paris, France

Germany: Jamela Seedat, Robert Koch Institute, Berlin

Greece: Rengina Vorou, National Public Health Organization, Athens

Hungary: Ágnes Hajdu, National Center for Epidemiology, Budapest

Iceland: Már Kristjánsson, Landspítali National University Hospital Fossvogur, Reykjavík

Ireland: Joan O Donnell, Health Protection Surveillance Centre, Dublin

Italy: Paola De Castro, Istituto Superiore di Sanità, Rome

Kosovo under UN Security Council Resolution 1244: Lul Raka, National Institute of Public Health, Pristina

Latvia: Dzintars Mozgis, Centre for Disease Prevention and Control, Riga

Lithuania: Nerija Kupreviciene, Ministry of Health of the Republic of Lithuania, Vilnius University, Vilnius

Luxembourg: Thérèse Staub, Centre Hospitalier de Luxembourg, Luxembourg

Malta: Tanya Melillo Fenech, Superintendence of Public Health, Ministry of Health, The Elderly and Community Care, Msida

Montenegro: to be nominated

Netherlands: Barbara Schimmer, National Institute of Public Health and the Environment (RIVM), Bilthoven

North Macedonia: to be nominated

Norway: Emily MacDonald, Norwegian Institute of Public Health, Oslo

Poland: Malgorzata Sadkowska-Todys, National Institute of Public Health – National Institute of Hygiene, Warsaw

Portugal: André Peralta-Santos, Directorate General of Health, Lisbon

Romania: Daniela Pitigoi, National Institute for Infectious Diseases ‘Prof.Dr.Matei Bals’, Bucharest

Serbia: to be nominated

Slovakia: Lukáš Murajda, Public Health Authority of the Slovak Republic, Bratislava

Slovenia: Mario Fafangel, National Institute of Public Health, Ljubljana

Spain: Josefa Masa Calles, Centro Nacional de Epidemiologia, Instituto de Salud Carlos III, Madrid

Sweden: Anders Wallensten, Folkhälsomyndigheten, Stockholm

Turkey: Fehminaz Temel, Public Health Institution of Turkey, Ankara

World Health Organization Regional Office for Europe: Danilo Lo Fo Wong, WHO Regional Office for Europe, Copenhagen, Denmark  

This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error